Weight Watchers Update

24 Jan

For the first time since joining Weight Watchers, I used more points than my allotment for the week. What?!?

Sidebar A: Clearly, I didn’t accurately track during the holidays. I probably ate 10000 times more than my points allowed. For shame.

Sidebar B: Hey, I tracked through all those grazing periods… good for me!!!  (And trust me, this was not my first reaction… guilt and shame must have their day before any sort of re-framing happens.)

The way online Weight Watchers works is that you have a certain amount of points per day (based on age, weight, gender, health conditions, whatever else they use) and then you receive a certain amount of playing points per week.  I weigh-in on Wednesdays, so from Wednesday-Tuesday I am allotted 26 points per day and 49 “anytime points” per week.  This is brilliant.  I am allowed to indulge and go to Restaurant Week with my friends (www.baltimorerestaurantweek.com) and not feel guilty.  I am also allowed to have 1/2 cup of Turkey Hill Light Strawberry Cheesecake ice cream at least 3 nights a week… alright, it’s more like 5 nights.

So, the first week back on track? I go over. I blow it.  But I’m trying to focus on the positives, and even though I’m engaging in some negative behaviors right now, I am still overall in a better place than I was during the holidays.

My next weigh-in day is tomorrow.  I have 2 “anytime” points left this week, so I am in better shape than I was last Tuesday.  Ideally, I like to still have between 15-30 “anytime” points remaining at the end of the week, but ideally I’d also like to run for 5 minutes without wheezing up a lung… and some stuff just isn’t going to happen right away!

Eating with abandon sounds like a good idea… but it never is.

(found this on pinterest… it definitely speaks to me!)

 

To set myself up for success this week, I planned my meals better.  I tried to eat out with less frequency (damn this Chinese New Year and all the delectable Chinese food that we had this weekend!).  I tried to get more sleep (hah!).  We shall see tomorrow during my weigh-in how it all turns out.  Besides a slight (devouring) mishap with some wonton soup this weekend, I already feel healthier and more in-control over my eating habits.

My goals for this upcoming week:

  • Cook more at home and try to avoid the always-tempting carryout options.
  • Plan my meals better! I baked one casserole and made oatmeal in the slow cooker that should last us the whole week, but with how busy we have been, I should probably make some sides and another main course for some variety.
  • Work out.  I bought a one-month discounted gym pass for a fitness club down the street from me. They offer zumba classes and a bunch of other things.  I would like to either cash that bad boy in or walk outside if it is nice this week!

More recipes will be posted soon!

 

Leave a Reply

