Meatless Monday Failure… and Slow-Cooked Oatmeal

16 Feb

We failed this week.  It wasn’t pretty.

Meatless Monday was going well.  I made a casserole on Sunday night, and I was all set to cook meatless stuffed peppers on Monday.  Alas, I woke up on Monday morning feeling sick.  And the last thing I wanted to do was eat healthy food.

To cheer me up, Chris took me down the street to try a new store that opened a few months ago.  It’s called Daniela’s and it’s a small storefront that sells Italian food — pastas, sauces, desserts, etc. — with only two tables.  The prices are so reasonable, you feel like you are committing a crime by only paying $7 for lunch. A delicious, delectable, delightful crime. We went during an off-time (before the dinner rush), and the owner was in cooking some food.  She is an Italian grandma, and even though we were just in to get sick-day cannolis, she asked us to try some crab meat raviolis. HOLY CRAP, they were outta control delicious.  So we ordered lasagna bolognese, which had a creaminess from the bechamel sauce that was out of this world.  So, even though we failed this Monday, I ask you all this: how do you say no to an Italian grandma who just wants to feed you?  You cannot say no. You just roll with it.

(As an aside, I was also feeling ill on Wednesday, and we tried the foccacia, the linguine with meat sauce, saccottino with mozzerella, spinach, and bacon, and again, that magical lasagna. HOMEMADE EVERYTHING.  There is nothing like homemade pasta in this world. I’m going to go out on a limb here and say everything is really delightful there.)

There is always next week!

Now, on to the breakfast recipe that has convinced me that it is not too difficult to pack a breakfast every day.

Slow Cooker Fruity Oatmeal

Adapted from Weight Watchers recipe; worth 5 points on the Weight Watchers Points Plus plan per serving; 9 Servings per recipe

  • 8 cups of water
  • 2 cups of STEEL CUT OATS (not your ordinary oatmeal, folks!)
  • 1/2 cup of maple syrup, the pure stuff
  • 1/2 cup of dried fruit (recently, I used blueberries… the original recipe uses cranberries, which are awesome in this)
  •  1 tsp cinnamon
  • a dash of salt
  1. Stir all ingredients together in a slow cooker.
  2. Set slow cooker on low for 6 hours.
  3. Stir, and serve. (I’ve made it several times, and I usually get just under 1 cup per serving)

uncooked, just chilling in the slow cooker.

Cooked and loving life!

I don’t know why I hadn’t discovered steel cut oats prior to this Weight Watchers recipe, but now I’m so happy that they are in my life to stay!

Leave a Reply

