Slow-Cooker Chicken Tikka Masala and a Weight Update

19 Mar

After three long months, I seem to have broken the plateau. 

THANK YOU EVERYTHING THAT IS HOLY IN THIS WORLD ((AMEN)).

It’s not official yet, but I’ve been weighing myself this week and I seem to have gotten below 156… it’s all due to a few simple things:

1. trying not to binge.

2. getting rid of all of our ice cream and not keeping it in the house anymore.

3. TRYING to stay within my allotted points for the day (they changed my points level in December, and I still haven’t gotten used to the reduced number of points per day).
The results have been amazing.  I went outlet shopping this weekend, and I fit into mostly size 10 clothes.  Things looked good on me.  I felt pretty and sexy.  I didn’t feel like a fat girl… I knew I wasn’t going to be hard-pressed to find something that fit.

When I’m doing the right thing, it feels amazing… I need to hold onto that feeling and continue on this good trend!

 

Now, for the delicious recipe that I am literally OBSESSED with.  I make this at least once a week.  It’s so good with cilantro-lime rice (recipe to come!), and really, it’s one of the only recipes I follow without changing because it is just that damn good.

Everything looking damn tasty!

 

Slow-Cooker Chicken Tikka Masala

serves 4; 9 points per serving

recipe from Real Simple, found here

Ingredients:

  • 1 15-ounce can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 2 teaspoons garam masala
  • salt and pepper
  • 1.5 lb boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • 1/2 English cucumber, sliced thinly (I use a mandolin)
  • 1/4 cup cilantro chopped
  • 1/2 lemon juiced
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream

Directions:

  1. In the slow cooker, combine the tomatoes, garlic, onion, tomato paste, garam masala, and some salt and pepper to taste.  Take the chicken thighs and place them on top of the tomato mixture.
  2. Cover and cook on low for 8 hours or on high for 4 hours.
  3. Toss the lemon juice, cilantro, and cucumber together in a small bowl.  Season with some salt and pepper to taste, and cover and place in the fridge.  (I leave this in the fridge for as long as the chicken cooks)
  4. After the chicken is done cooking, take the heavy cream and mix it in. 
  5. Top each serving of chicken with some of the cucumber mixture (see picture below).  Serve and enjoy!!!

 

Seriously, this is as tasty as the real thing, and loads healthier too! Try it ASAP!!!

Leave a Reply

