Simple Strawberry Salad

9 May

I’m not going to lie, I didn’t do so hot for dinner last night or at lunch today.  My honey and I had some surprise date time together, so we splurged, both financially (eeek! stinking budget) and food-wise.  We went to this great Asian place (and usually I don’t like fusion-“Asian” places that aren’t specifically one culture, like Japanese or Thai) for dinner Monday and a gourmet burger joint for lunch on Tuesday.  I guess something about quality time with Chris, especially when it is unplanned for, makes me feel like I can splurge and it won’t count?  I need to remember that the temporary pleasure of eating something decadent is less important and ultimately less satisfying than the long-term pleasure of eating well and feeling good about myself.

And by remembering not to overeat by going out, I will also work that pesky budget… we have so many expenses coming up (elopement, post-elopement reception, honeymoon, house), we really should not be going out to eat very often.

Anyway, after our decadent meals (which I did track accurately!), I thought that I needed to eat something after going to the gym, but it needed to be light.  It also needed to resemble restaurant gourmet food that I would actually want to order.  Thus, the strawberry salad.

(Yes, it does feel silly posting a recipe for something so simple…)

 

Strawberry Spinach Salad

Serves 2; 3 WW pts. plus per serving

Ingredients:

  • a few handfuls of spinach
  • 5-7 strawberries, thinly sliced
  • a bell pepper, chopped finely (I used red, yellow, and orange bell pepper, just a few chunks out of each pepper)
  • 1 tablespoon blue cheese crumbles
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • cracked black pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl.
  2. Toss so that all ingredients are mixed together and serve.

One Response to “Simple Strawberry Salad”

  1. Rebecca Dunkin May 9, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    Vixen- I totally get where you are coming from with the whole eating like our fiance/boyfriend things. Why are their metabolisms so much faster then ours?

    The strawberry salad looks delicious! I made a similar one for lunch Monday here is what I used

    – Field Greens
    – Strawberries (quartered)
    – Almond Slivers
    – Feta Cheese
    – Low-Fat Raspberry Vinaigrette

    It tasted light, sweet and healthy!

Leave a Reply

