Bacon Guacamole — aka, the Meaning of Life

7 Jul

I’m sorry, I’ve been bad.  I’ve held out on you since Tuesday night with this recipe. 

This is seriously the most life-altering dish I have ever made.  But it isn’t my fault.  And I know, it’s not quite “diet.”  BUT IT IS WORTH IT. And if you haven’t noticed, it’s not like I can “indulge” in some ice cream right now – -so bacony avocadoey dip eaten with a fork will have to do.

A few months ago, Chris and I went to a local restaurant and had the most life changing guacamole — BACON GUACAMOLE.  Unfortunately, the rest of the food wasn’t that great, and despite my pleading, Chris doesn’t want to go to the restaurant to just order their guacamole (silly man).  “Why don’t you just make it yourself?” he asks.  I was convinced it wouldn’t be the same.

I was right. My version is better. 

And unfortunately, I didn’t expect it to be such a raging success.  Sorry for the poor picture.  I snapped this after Chris and I had eaten almost the entirety of the bowl.

Bacon Guacamole

Serves: 4 (2 if you are me and Chris…) Points per serving: 5 WW Points Plus

Ingredients:

  • 3 slices raw bacon
  • 1.5 Tbsp crumbled feta cheese (Israeli feta is what I used)
  • 1.5 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced finely
  • 1 medium avocado, chunked and peeled
  • 6 small cherry tomatoes, chopped finely
  • 1 Tbsp red onion, chopped finely
  • the juice of 1 lime
  • salt and pepper to taste (if you have a saltier feta, watch the salt when adding more to the guac!)

Instructions:

  1. Bake in a 400 degree oven the bacon on a baking sheet for 15 minutes.
  2. Let bacon cool, and crumble the slices.
  3. Add the avocado, tomato, garlic, cherries, lime, onion, and olive oil together in a bowl, and mash together.
  4. Add the feta and mash a little more.
  5. Finally, add in the bacon and combine til everything is all bacony and lovely.
  6. Taste. Add salt or pepper if needed (we needed a little pepper, nothing else!).
  7. Devour.

Legitly, we ate this with a fork.  And moaned. (Normal people could eat this with veggies or some tortilla chips. I envision this with a fried egg for breakfast. Nomnomnom.)

The feta and olive oil gave it a creaminess, and the bacon gave it this meatiness. So good.  Even Chris, who basically does not like avocado or tomatoes (I know, what is wrong with him?!?!???), scarfed this.

Happy guac-ing!

 

Leave a Reply

